34. Stuttgarter Filmwinter
Festival for Expanded Media
6.1. bis 20.1.2021


For over 30 years, the Festival has been devoted to crossing the border between cinema and media art with an adventurous international programme comprising films, workshops, Expanded Media exhibition and performances for people of all ages. The Festival’s core are the international competitions for short film, Media in Space and Network Culture – flanked by a comprehensive programme.
Every year, the Filmwinter Stuttgart has a new motto that is reflected in the design, supporting programme and the whole aura of the festival.

About the Organisers

Wand 5 e.V. are the organisers of the Filmwinter Stuttgart. Supporting independent media culture is the association’s aim and one of their characteristics is to foresee, accompany and question the term of media culture. To do this, more than 30 locations in Stuttgart with various formats have played a part.
Wand 5 are co-founders of „Initiative für ein Neues Kommunales Kino in Stuttgart“ (an initiative to revive the municipal cinema in Stuttgart), „AG Kurzfilm - Bundesverband Deutscher Kurzfilm“ (Federal Short Film Association for German Short Film), and present the plattform Media Space.

Media Space

Media Space wants to offer a platform for a media discourse in Stuttgart to discuss topics and present projects but also a place of productive and direct debate. The platform will be a year-round initiative by Wand 5 e.V., organisers of Stuttgarter Filmwinter – Festival for Expanded Media. The interdisciplinary approach allows an exchange for related disciplines and promotes the exploration of other perspectives through formats such as workshops, lectures, live-acts and Network Culture works.

Team Filmwinter 2021

Festival directors:
Marcus Kohlbach, Giovanna Thiery

Programme management film:
Giovanna Thiery

Programme management Media in Space & Network Culture:
Marcus Kohlbach

Office organisation and finances:
Michaela Gronenborn

Assistant to programme management:
Timo Thena

Project management:
Fabian Kühfuß

Coordination Uncut-Talks/Editoral Staff:
Nicole Rebmann

Technical Support:
Fender Schrade, Seraphine Gronenborn

Catalogue editor:
Vivien Sigmund

Graphic concept and design:
Demian Bern, EXP.Edition

Druckhaus Stil, Stuttgart

Nici Halschke

Selection committee film:
Täschi Fobler, Nici Halschke, Matthias Müller, Sabine Roschmann, Giovanna Thiery

Selection committee Buggles Award:
Walter Ercolino, Nici Halschke, Amelie Köppl, Giovanna Thiery

Selection committee Media in Space:
Cindy Cordt, Yvy Heussler, Marcus Kohlbach, Oliver Prechtl, Lili Weiss

Selection committee Network Culture:
Cindy Cordt, Yvy Heussler, Marcus Kohlbach, Oliver Prechtl, Lili Weiss

Curators supportive programmes, programme Media Space and specials:
Marcus Kohlbach, Giovanna Thiery

Children´s and youth programme:
Giovanna Thiery

Media technician Expanded Media Exhibition:
Werner Wenzel

Assistance to technician:
Steffen Osvath, Sander Wickersheim

Presentation film:
Nici Halschke

Interviews Uncut-Talks Expanded Media & Media Space:
Daphne Dragona, Helen Varley Jamieson

Jury support Expanded Media Exhibition:
Lili Weiss

Festival trailer:
Uwe Kassai, Demian Bern, Oliver Prechtl

Alex Kern

Wand 5 e.V.